Between the Buried and Me @ The Electric Factory


Between the Buried and Me is an American progressive metal band from Raleigh, North
Carolina. They recently arrived at the Electric Factory here in Philadelphia and
performed new songs form their two-part album, Automata I. The first part only
containing six songs.

Their debut eponymous album was released through Lifeforce Records in 2002, shifting to
Victory Records for subsequent releases until their signing to Metal Blade in 2011, where
Between the Buried and Me released their first extended play, The Parallax: Hypersleep
Dialogues that year, and its full-length follow-up The Parallax II: Future Sequence the following
year. Their seventh studio album, Coma Ecliptic, was released in 2015. Their eighth album
Automata I was released March 9, 2018. It is the first part of a two-piece album—the second,
Automata II, is scheduled to be released in summer 2018. The album has overall gotten good
reviews. There is a lot of anticipation for the second part to arrive in the summer.
This band is very different from the music I listen too. They are a band that combines metal and
EDM in an interesting Mashup. The openers, The Dear Hunter and Leprous were a great taste of
what everyone could expect from the headliners. Leprous opened the show and The Dear
Hunter reeled everyone in for the preparation for Between the Buried and Me. However, they
all had distinctive differences in their music. I have not been exposed to much metal so going to a show that mixed metal and a dash of EDM was drastically different for me. Also, I went in
with many expectations and I was pleasantly surprised with the openers and headliners. I
believe Between the Buried and Me is a progressive band changing the way metal music is
played and performed.

Set List

  1. Condemned to the Gallows
  2. The Coma Machine
  3. Dim Ignition
  4. Millions
  5. Gold Distance
  6. Blot
  7. Astral Body
  8. Lay Your Ghosts to Rest
  9. ObfuscationEncore:
  10. Silent Flight Parliament
  11. Goodbye to Everything Reprise”