PHOTOS: Darlingside at Union Transfer

Follow WHIP Twitter Facebook Instagram

PHOTOS BY: Siena Sohn

It hasn’t even been a year since the last time Darlingside, an americana folk quartet from Boston, made the trek down South to Philadelphia. Taking over Union Transfer for the second time this year, Darlingside pit stopped at Spring Garden on Friday night to remind Philly just how incredibly unique of a group they are.

Surrounding a single dynamic microphone, the foursome includes Don Mitchell, Auyon Mukharji, Harris Paseltiner, and David Senft, as well as a wide array of instruments. Their sound is as intricate and delicate as a spider spinning its web – nothing short of extraordinary. In between sets, the musicians would go on a humorous, quirky tangent with the crowd, reminding us of just how unique they really are.

It seemed like the first time in a long time that an entire room of Philadelphians gathered into a room and were silent. Darlingside had the complete respect of their audience, which only added to their breath taking harmonies and instrumentals. With a staggering 14 song set list and even rolling out a soon-to-be released track, Darlingside had the undivided attention of every fan, bartender, and security in the room. Next time they roll around, be sure to check out their set.

Read the review from the last time Darlingside was in town.

Take a listen to their magical harmonies on Spotify.

Keep up with Siena Sohn on Instagram.

Set List:

  1. Extralife
  2. Singularity
  3. White Horses
  4. Go Back
  5. My Gal, My Guy
  6. Orion
  7. Hold Your Head Up High
  8. Eschaton
  9. Good for You
  10. Harrison Ford
  11. [Unknown / Unreleased Track]
  12. Blow the House Down
  13. God of Loss


14. Best of the Best of Times


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.