Russo, Bradley selected to national award watch lists

Follow WHIP Twitter Facebook Instagram

Image from:

By: Taylor Snyder

Temple football players Shaun Bradley and Anthony Russo were named to national “watch lists” for the 2019 college football season. 

Bradley was named to the 2019 Bednarik Award watch list while Russo was added to the Maxwell Award watch list on Monday. The Bednarik Award recognizes the nation’s best defensive player and the Maxwell Award spotlights the best player in a given season. 

Bradley will enter his senior season with 169 career tackles and 25 starts at linebacker in the past two seasons. Russo started 10 games last season after Frank Nutile suffered an injury early in the season. Temple went 7-3 when Russo started under center en route to an appearance in the Independence Bowl.

Bradley is one of four players selected to the Bednarik Award watch list from the American Athletic Conference – Tulane junior defensive end Patrick Johnson, UCF junior safety Richie Grant and Memphis senior defensive end Bryce Huff. 

Bradley will look to become the second Temple player to win the Bednarik Award. Former linebacker Tyler Matakevich won the award in 2015. 

Last season, Russo compiled 198 completions for 2,563 yards and 14 touchdowns during his redshirt-sophomore campaign. Russo also threw 14 interceptions. 

Entering his redshirt-junior season, Russo is among 37 quarterbacks and five AAC players on the Maxwell Award watch list. UCF Senior running back Adrian Killins, Cincinnati junior running back Michael Warren, Memphis senior running back Patrick Taylor, and Houston senior quarterback D’Eriq King were also named to the watch list on Monday. 

The last player from Temple to win the Maxwell Award was former quarterback Steve Joachim in 1974. 

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced October 29, while the three finalists will be unveiled November 25. The winner of the 2019 Bednarik Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 12. 

Other players on the Maxwell watch list are; Clemson sophomore QB Trevor Lawrence, Alabama junior QB Tua Tagovailoa and Wisconsin junior RB Jonathan Taylor. 

was named to the Maxwell Award Watch list which has been awarded to the nation’s best college football player since 1937. The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which compiles the most prestigious awards in college football. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.